Canadian Tales of the Fantastic Short Story Competition

red tuque logoRed Tuque Books seeks writers of short fiction for the 2013 Short Story Writing Contest. Looking for elements of the fantastic (science fiction, horror) and stories that are identifiably Canadian. Looking for stories between 1500 and 5000 words.

Prizes:  First place $500.00; Second place $150.00; Third place $100.00

Reading fee: $15 per story (Canadian)

Deadline: December 31, 2013

For more information, please visit their website.

Indies Unlimited is pleased to provide this contest information for the convenience of our readers. We do not, however, endorse this or any contest/competition. Entrants should always research a competition prior to entering.

Reflect, Embrace and Move Forward

DSC_0413Last week I talked a bit about reflection—looking at the past year and appreciating what worked and what might not have worked.

I might not have stressed enough the importance of reflection. Without reflection, improvement is UNATTAINABLE. Continue reading “Reflect, Embrace and Move Forward”

Featured Book: Betty’s Child

Betty’s Child
by Donald R. Dempsey
Available from Amazon.

In the tradition of Frank McCourt and Angela’s Ashes, Don Dempsey uses Betty’s Child to tell the story of life with his cruel and neglectful mother, his mother’s abusive boyfriends, and hypocritical church leaders who want to save twelve-year-old Donny’s soul but ignore threats to his physical well-being. Meanwhile, Donny’s best friend is trying to recruit Donny to do petty theft and deal drugs for a dangerous local thug.

Young Donny is a real-life cross between Huckleberry Finn and Holden Caulfield as he tells his story, with only his street smarts and sense of humor to guide him. Donny does everything he can to take care of himself and his younger brothers, but with each new development, the present becomes more fraught with peril–and the future more uncertain.

Just in Time Releases

And here they are! Just in time for the holidays, five new releases for your perusing pleasure.

The Way Home by Carol Holland March

A collection of stories with protagonists seeking their true home, whether a place or a relationship. Reality and fantasy entwine.

The Way Home is available through and Amazon UK.


Awakening in the Northwest Territories by Alastair Henry

When Alastair went north to live in a remote First Nations community, cultural differences and a cold environment transformed his life.

Awakening in the Northwest Territories is available through and Amazon UK.


The Puppet Kingdom by Meridel Newton

Fairy tales can take the form of human beings, but someone is trying to erase stories from existence. Red must save the tales – and herself.

The Puppet Kingdom is available at and Amazon UK.


Second Life by RJ Crayton

Captive Susan Harper needs help from a mysterious stranger to discover the truth of her kidnapping and help her escape before it’s too late.

Second Life is available at, Smashwords, and Amazon UK.


Laying Claim by Paty Jager

Jeremy Duncan leaves Skagway in the middle of a blizzard to keep one strong-willed, business-minded beauty alive.

Laying Claim is available at, Barnes & Noble, and Amazon UK.